Personal Injury Statute of Limitations

STATE YEARS Code Number Link to STATE
Alabama 2 years Title 6, Ch. 2, 6-2-38 State 
Alaska 2 years Sec. 9.10.070 State 
Arizona 2 years Title 12, Article 3, Sec. 12-542 State 
Arkansas 3 years (libel, wrongful death), 2 years med malpractice; 1 year slander Secs. 16-56-104, 16-56-105, 16-114-203, 16-62-102 State 
California 2 years Code of Civ. Proc. Sec. 335.1, 340 State 
Colorado 2 years Colo. Rev. Stat. Sec. 13-80-102 State 
Connecticut 2 years Conn. Gen. State. Sec. 52-584 State 
Delaware 2 years Title 10, Ch. 81, Sec. 8119 State 
DC 3 years Title 12, Ch. 3, Sec. 12-301 State 
Florida 4 years Title 8, Ch. 95, Sec. 95.11 State 
Georgia 2 years Sec. 9-3-33 State 
Hawaii 2 years Rev. Stat. Sec. 657.7 State 
Idaho 2 years Title 5, Ch. 2, Sec. 5-219 State 
Illinois 2 years Ch. 735, Act 5, Art 13, Sec. 13-202 State 
Indiana 2 years Title 34, Art. 11, Ch. 2, Sec. 34-11-2-4 State 
Iowa 2 years Chapter 614, Section 614.1 State 
Kansas 2 years Chapter 60, Art 5, Sec. 60-513 State 
Kentucky 1 year Title 36, Chapter 413, Sec. 413.140 State 
Louisiana 1 year Ci. Code. Art. 3492 State 
Maine 6 years Title 14,Part 2, Ch. 205, Sub. 1, Sec. 752 State 
Maryland 3 years Courts and Judicial Proceedings, Sec. 5-101 State 
Massachusetts 3 years Title 5, Ch. 260, Secs. 2A and 4 State 
Michigan 3 years Chapter 600, Act 236, Ch. 58, Sec. 600.5805, number 9 State 
Minnesota 2 years Ch. 541, Sec 541.05, 541.07 State 
Mississippi 3 years Title 15, Ch. 1, Sec. 15-1-49 State 
Missouri 5 years Title 35, Ch. 516, Sec. 516.120 State 
Montana 3 years Title 27, Ch. 2, 27-2-204 and 27-2-207 State 
Nebraska 4 years Title 25, Section 207, 25-207 State 
Nevada 2 years Chapter 11, Sec 11.190 State 
New Hampshire 3 years Chapter 508, Sec. 508.4 State 
New Jersey 2 years Title 2A, Ch. 14, Sec. 2A:14-2 State 
New Mexico 3 years Ch. 37, Art. 1, Sec. 37-1-8 State 
New York 3 years Civil Practice Laws and Rules, Art. 2, Sec. 214 State 
N. Carolina 3 years Title 1, Section 1-52 State 
N. Dakota 6 years; 2 years in wrongful death Title 28, Ch. 1, Secs. 28-01-16 and 28-01-18 State 
Ohio 2 years Title 23, Ch. 5, Sec. 2305.10 State 
Oklahoma 2 years Title 12, Ch. 3, Sec. 95 State 
Oregon 2 years Ch. 12, Sec. 12.110 State 
Pennsylvania 2 years 42 PA Con. Stat. Section 5524 None
Rhode Island 3 years Title 9, Ch. 1, Sec. 9-1-14 State 
S. Carolina 3 years Title 15, Ch. 3, Sec. 15-3-530 State 
S. Dakota 3 years Title 15, Ch. 2, Sec. 15-2-14 State 
Tennessee 1 year Title 28, Ch. 3, Sec. 28-3-104 State 
Texas 2 years Civ. Prac. & Rem Code, Title 2, Ch. 16, Sec. 16.003 State 
Utah 4 years Title 78, Ch. 12, Sec. 78-12-25 State 
Vermont 3 years Title 12, Part 2, Ch. 23, Subch. 2, Sec. 512 State 
Virginia 2 years Title 8.01, Ch. 4, Sec. 8.01-243 State 
Washington 3 years Title 4, Ch. 16, Sec. 4.16.080 State 
West Virginia 2 years Title 55, Ch. 2, Sec. 55-2-12 State 
Wisconsin 3 years Chapter 893, Sec. 893.54  State 
Wyoming 4 years Title 1, Ch. 3, Sec. 1-3-105 State 
COVERAGE ANALYSIS
BACK TO RESOURCES
SETTLEMENT NEGOTIATION